Cook & Nichols Named to 2nd Team All-Conference

Cook & Nichols Named to 2nd Team All-Conference

USA South 2019 Women's Soccer Awards Announced

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2019 All-Conference awards for women's soccer. Maryville College's Shannon Reagan was named Player of the Year while her coach, Pepe Fernandez, earned Coach of the Year honors. William Peace's Raine Greene was named Rookie of the Year and Pfeiffer's Kaley Hyatt collected Goalkeeper of the Year to wrap-up the individual award winners.

NC Wesleyan had two women named to the All-Conference Second team and they were senior Sarah Cook and junior Cydney Nichols. Cook was named as a second team midfielder for her 7 goals, 4 assists and 18 points this season while Nichols was named as a second team forward for leading the team in goals with 12 and points with 26.

Additionally, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school and the award for the Lady Bishops went to senior defender Victoria Burkhart who finished the year with one assist over two games played. 

All awards are voted on by the women's soccer coach at each institution. The divisional team voting is completed only by those coaches in the particular division. The all-conference and individual award voting is completed by all coaches.

The Lady Bishops (6-10-1) are coming off a thrilling shootout win over Meredith College in the first round of the USA South Tournament on Wednesday night. The Bishops' 5-3 PK win vaults them into a Saturday quarterfinal matchup with Covenant College in North Georgia at 2 PM.

First Team East Division Second Team East Division
Cayci Eaton, Pfeiffer
Ellie Montes, Salem
Mackenzie Pruitt, Pfeiffer

Gabby Bosak, Pfeiffer
Raine Greene, William Peace
Madison Karch, Greensboro
Hailey Metzger, Pfeiffer

Keeley Catarineau, Greensboro
Morgan Cecil, Pfeiffer
Alyssa Denkovich, Salem
Meredith Manson, Pfeiffer

Kaley Hyatt, Pfeiffer
Laura Harris, Methodist
Cydney Nichols, N.C. Wesleyan
Anna Rae Porcelli, Greensboro

Sarah Cook, N.C. Wesleyan
Lillian Fox, Meredith
Sophia Griffin, Pfeiffer
Martha Santos, Salem

Natalie Habich, Greensboro
Krystal Jaimes, Pfeiffer
Sierra Swasey, Methodist

Kelsey Emrich, Greensboro
Hannah Wagner, Salem